The Favourite (15)

  • Drama Comedy Biography
  • |
  • 120 mins.
  • Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, Rachel Weisz
  • Dir. Yorgos Lanthimos

Book Online See All Events

Upcoming Showings

Tuesday 22nd January: 5:30pm | Castle Cinema
Wednesday 23rd January: 5:30pm | Castle Cinema
Thursday 24th January: 5:30pm | Castle Cinema
Friday 25th January: 5:45pm | Market Theatre
Saturday 26th January: 5:15pm | Market Theatre

Synopsis

A quirky period comedy from the director of The Lobster, staring Olivia Colman (in what looks to be a career-best performance) as a frail Queen Anne opposite Rachel Weisz’s close friend Lady Sarah, who must put up with the Queen’s mercurial temper while governing the country in her stead. When a new servant, Abigail (Emma Stone), arrives, Lady Sarah takes her under her wing, and Abigail sees a chance to return to her aristocratic roots.


Golden Globes 2019

Winner, Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy  (Olivia Colman)

Nominee, Best Screenplay - Motion Picture

Nominee, Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture (Rachel Weisz)

Nominee, Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture (Emma Stone)


BAFTA Awards 2019

Nominee, Best Supporting Actress (Rachel Weisz)

Nominee, Best Supporting Actress (Emma Stone)

Nominee, Best Film

Nominee, Outstanding British Film of the Year

Nominee, Best Leading Actress (Olivia Colman)

Nominee, Best Screenplay (Original)

Nominee, Best Editing

Nominee, Best Cinematography

Nominee, Best Director (Yorgos Lanthimos)

Nominee, Best Make Up/Hair

Nominee, Best Costume Design

Nominee, Best Production Design

Book Tickets

Tuesday 22nd Jan 5.30pm
Castle Cinema
Wednesday 23rd Jan 5.30pm
Castle Cinema
Thursday 24th Jan 5.30pm
Castle Cinema
Friday 25th Jan 5.45pm
Market Theatre
Saturday 26th Jan 5.15pm
Market Theatre
Sunday 27th Jan 5.15pm
Market Theatre
Wednesday 6th Feb 8.30pm
Market Theatre
Thursday 7th Feb 8.30pm
Market Theatre
Wednesday 20th Feb 5.45pm
Market Theatre
Thursday 21st Feb 5.45pm
Market Theatre
Monday 25th Feb 5.00pm
Castle Cinema
Tuesday 26th Feb 5.00pm
Castle Cinema
Sunday 17th Mar 5.45pm
Market Theatre
Tuesday 26th Mar 8.15pm
Castle Cinema

Explore more Events