Surrealism: Wellspring of the Imagination

  • Wednesday 8th January: 6:00pm
  • Gallery

Book Online See All Events

Upcoming Showings

Wednesday 8th January: 6:00pm | Gallery
Thursday 9th January: 6:00pm | Gallery
Friday 10th January: 6:00pm | Gallery
Saturday 11th January: 2:00pm | Gallery
Sunday 12th January: 2:00pm | Gallery

Synopsis

John Richardson and John Welson will be exhibiting works which provide evidence not only of contemporary surrealist activity, but of the continuing relevance of the surrealist critique of the dull world of the reality-principle, referred to in the First Surrealist Manifesto as ‘the unacceptable human condition’. 

 

Surrealists seek to transform our view of ‘what is’ and ‘what can be’, and to reveal a deeper, hidden reality.  Opposing so-called common sense, capitalist ideology, religious delusions and the miserablism of everyday life, with total revolt and an unfettered imagination suffused with the love of the irrational and the irrationality of love, Surrealism is above all an adventure of the mind.

 

Swrealaeth: Pen Ffynnon y Dychymyg – Arddangosfa

   

Bydd John Richardson a John Welson yn arddangos gweithiau sy’n dangos nid yn unig gweithgarwch swreal cyfoes ond hefyd perthnasedd oesol y feirniadaeth swreal o’r byd diflas sy’n seiliedig ar yr egwyddor o realaeth, yr hyn a gyfeiriwyd ato gan André Breton yn Y Maniffesto Swreal Cyntaf fel ‘y cyflwr dynol annerbyniol’.

 

Nod swrealwyr yw trawsnewid ein persbectif ar ‘yr hyn sydd yn bod’ a’r ‘hyn a allai fod’, a datgelu gwirionedd dyfnach, cudd. Gan wrthryfela yn erbyn synnwyr cyffredin, syniadaeth gyfalafol, rhithdybiau crefyddol a thruenusrwydd bywyd bob dydd, a chan roi rhyddid i’r dychymyg drochi ei hun a charu’r hyn sy’n afresymol – gan gynnwys afresymoldeb cariad ei hun – mae Swrealaeth yn antur go iawn i’r meddwl.

Book Tickets

Wednesday 8th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Thursday 9th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Friday 10th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Saturday 11th Jan 2.00pm
Gallery
Sunday 12th Jan 2.00pm
Gallery
Monday 13th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Tuesday 14th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Wednesday 15th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Thursday 16th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Friday 17th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Saturday 18th Jan 2.00pm
Gallery
Sunday 19th Jan 2.00pm
Gallery
Monday 20th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Tuesday 21st Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Wednesday 22nd Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Thursday 23rd Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Friday 24th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Saturday 25th Jan 2.00pm
Gallery
Sunday 26th Jan 2.00pm
Gallery
Monday 27th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Tuesday 28th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Wednesday 29th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Thursday 30th Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Friday 31st Jan 6.00pm
Gallery
Saturday 1st Feb 2.00pm
Gallery
Sunday 2nd Feb 2.00pm
Gallery
Monday 3rd Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Tuesday 4th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Wednesday 5th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Thursday 6th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Friday 7th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Saturday 8th Feb 2.00pm
Gallery
Sunday 9th Feb 2.00pm
Gallery
Monday 10th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Tuesday 11th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Wednesday 12th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Thursday 13th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Friday 14th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Saturday 15th Feb 2.00pm
Gallery
Sunday 16th Feb 2.00pm
Gallery
Monday 17th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Tuesday 18th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Wednesday 19th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Thursday 20th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Friday 21st Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Saturday 22nd Feb 2.00pm
Gallery
Sunday 23rd Feb 2.00pm
Gallery
Monday 24th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Tuesday 25th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Wednesday 26th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Thursday 27th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Friday 28th Feb 6.00pm
Gallery
Saturday 29th Feb 2.00pm
Gallery
Sunday 1st Mar 2.00pm
Gallery
Monday 2nd Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Tuesday 3rd Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Wednesday 4th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Thursday 5th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Friday 6th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Saturday 7th Mar 2.00pm
Gallery
Sunday 8th Mar 2.00pm
Gallery
Monday 9th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Tuesday 10th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Wednesday 11th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Thursday 12th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Friday 13th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Saturday 14th Mar 2.00pm
Gallery
Sunday 15th Mar 2.00pm
Gallery
Monday 16th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Tuesday 17th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Wednesday 18th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Thursday 19th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Friday 20th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Saturday 21st Mar 2.00pm
Gallery
Sunday 22nd Mar 2.00pm
Gallery
Monday 23rd Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Tuesday 24th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Wednesday 25th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Thursday 26th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Friday 27th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Saturday 28th Mar 2.00pm
Gallery
Sunday 29th Mar 2.00pm
Gallery
Monday 30th Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Tuesday 31st Mar 6.00pm
Gallery
Wednesday 1st Apr 6.00pm
Gallery

Explore more Events